SHANA SANDERSON

USA

WRWR Position:

Executive Vice President of Operations

Contact Shana:

shana@womenridersworldrelay.com

 

SHANA’S RIDES:

How long have you been riding?

I have had my endorsement for 9 years, took a long break and was determined to get back at it this season.

What do you ride?

I am Currently riding a 92 Kawasaki Ninja 250, 97 Suzuki Katana 600, in the process of restoring a 74 CB200.

Why do you ride?

The thrill, challenge and freedom of the road… And we all know motorcycling is cool!!

What is your greatest achievement on two wheels?

This upcoming relay will be my greatest achievement.

What potential impact do think WRWR would have on the world?

There is no potential about it. WRWR is going to bring together phenomenal women from all corners of the world to show the motorcycle industry we are serious!!

Do you have a good crash story?

Uhhh sure I have a good crash story. Learning the hard way that wherever you look the motorcycle will go, especially while grabbing a handful of front brake on wet roads in a turn. Total noob move!! Luckily nothing serious!!

Do you have a biking idol?

Sarah Lezito, even though I can’t stunt at all and probably won’t because asphalt hurts.

Do you work on your own bikes?

Absolutely, working on my own bike is half the joy of riding. I basically re-built the Ninja and Katana

What’s your dream bike?

I may have my eye on the Yamaha MT07 and mostly anything from Triumph.

Where would you most like to ride in the world?

First on my bucket list is the Tail of the Dragon in the US because I’ll most likely be able to get there sometime in the next five years.  But I am always up for a trip, so if it involves a bike I am there.

BEHIND THE VISOR:

Where are you from?

I am from New Jersey in the US.

What do you do for work?

I am a nurse by training and work for a non profit mental health agency as the Director of Quality Improvement.

How old are you?

34 years young.

Do you have a family of your own?

Yup, my children are part of the reason for the long break. I have been married to the luckiest man in the world for 8 years. Our kids are 5, 5, and 2!

Would you teach your kids to ride?

No doubt, we already are getting them on mini bikes! Well not the baby, yet…

Were you in any groups or clubs before WRWR?

Nope, a few women rider groups on Facebook which is how I learned about WRWR.

What do you enjoy doing aside from biking?

I enjoy working on my bike, washing my bike, customizing my bike, working on other people’s bikes. Ohhhh… I’m a complete bookworm that gets excited about spreadsheets and numbers. My main true love is spending time with my family. It doesn’t have to be anything special, but watching the world through their eyes amazes me every single day; even when I’m frustrated with them. We especially love anything that’s outdoors related!!

What one word best describes you?

Just one? You can tell I’m wordy… Resourceful.

…Now what one word that people who know you well would describe you?

Again with just one!!! Dynamic, and I know because I asked ? Or “laid-back” but that may be cheating.

Do you have a biker name – if not what would it be?

No I don’t have a biker name but if I did it would be “these introspective questions make me uncomfortable”.

What super powers do you have and what would you have if you could choose?

My balance is out of this world!! I somehow can manage being an amazing (hope so) wife and mother while continuing to grow a very demanding career and throwing in some fun projects like WRWR.

If I could choose any super power, today, it would be the ability to pause time. Tomorrow I may think of a better one though.

Who got you into riding?

My husband and I starting riding (legally) together. He had a history of dirt biking/ riding and working in motorcycle safety and I had always wanted to get licensed.

Why did you join WRWR?

I was bored and needed a hobby? When I saw Hayley’s post I knew WRWR was going to be powerful for women, in general and in the motorcycle industry. Her idea is so grand that I instantly knew I wanted to be a part of making it happen.