SARA OSTERHOLZER
UK

WRWR Position:

Vice President of Planning & Marketing

Contact Sara:

sara@womenridersworldrelay.com

 

SARA’S RIDES:

How long have you been riding

Since June 2018 

What to do you ride

Suzuki GSF 600 – Bandit

Why do you ride

Freedom. Adrenaline. Empowerment.

What is your greatest achievement on two wheels?

The first time I ever rode a “big bike” was when a free space opened up at a Wheelie School. The owner of the school tutored me for 5 minutes till I was confident on the Fazer 600 then coached me to wheelie for the next 5 hours.

or

Two weeks after starting to ride my “big bike” I went on a two week tour across Europe. The first two days was intense riding (12 hours on day 2!) followed by all sorts of roads, weathers and riding situations. So glad I did it so early on.

What potential impact do think WRWR would have on the world?

Like Hayley, I want to show the industry that female riders are here, and in full force. We are going to connect and inspire women across the world and pivot the industry to accommodate all riders, having fun along the way!

Do you have a good crash story?

Had my first bike crash three weeks into organising WRWR! A good lesson that will improve my riding for sure.

Do you have a biking idol?

I am meeting so many incredible women through WRWR that I couldn’t pick just one person. From women overcoming physical challenges like Claire Lomas to women empowering others through motorbikes like Urvashi Patole from The Bikerni group in India. All the courageous women attempting adventures across the world on their own. Every story inspires me.

Do you work on your own bikes?

I have learnt so much about the mechanics of my bike being around bikes for the last 6 or so years. Done a few bits here and there and learning every time my bike needs something else done.

What’s your dream bike 

Triumph Street Triple R

Where would you most like to ride in the world

I would love to return to Vietnam, hire bikes and go from the south to the north over a few weeks.

 

BEHIND THE VISOR:

Where are you from?

I was born in Germany and grew up in India before moving to England where I still live. I now live in Brighton.

What do you do for work?

I am a startup business coach and run a network of businesses in Brighton that are looking to positively impact their communities and the environment,

How old are you?

I am 28

Do you have a family of your own?

Really loving sisters and a cat.

Would you teach your kids to ride?

Absolutely!

Were you in any groups or clubs before WRWR

Recently joined Motorbike Women Facebook group but not met any female riders till joining WRWR.

What do you enjoy doing aside from biking?

I enjoy food (both cooking and trying new food), enjoy taking photos as well as sketching (everything from life drawing to painting).

What one word best describes you

Ambitious

…Now what one word that people who know you well would describe you

Determined

Do you have a biker name – if not what would it be

No, but I wish I did! I’ll see what develops over time!

What super powers do you have and what would you have if you could choose?

My super power is organising. My brain sees everything in perfectly ordered structures and frameworks. The weird thing is, I absolutely love it! If I could choose a super power however… I’d love to be able to fly. Would fly to all the places that I couldn’t ride to and ride everywhere else!

Who got you into riding?

My ex boyfriend. I’d always loved the idea of motorbikes and he was the first biker I met who taught me everything I know. 

Why did you join WRWR?

WRWR’s mission to raise the profile of female riders was what initially drew me in. I love helping ideas become a reality and helping Hayley plan the movement has been a bonus.