MICHELLE LAMPHERE

USA

WRWR Position:

Chief Financial Officer

Contact Michelle:

michelle@womenridersworldrelay.com

 

MICHELLE’S RIDES:

How long have you been riding?

18 years.

What do you ride?

Kawasaki KLR650, Yamaha XT225, Yamaha XT250.

Why do you ride?

I ride because it’s exhilarating and relaxing all at once, as challenging as I want to make it, and an inexpensive way to see the world.

What is your greatest achievement on two wheels?

Riding from my home in South Dakota to Ushuaia home again, 45,000 miles over 2 years in 20 countries.

What potential impact do think WRWR would have on the world?

This round-the-world relay ride has the potential to unite women riders from every corner of our world and every type of riding background.  How incredibly beautiful will that be?!

Do you have a good crash story?

Two weeks into my 2-year motorcycle journey from South Dakota to the bottom of South America, I wrecked my bike on the Trans-Labrador Highway, which is literally in the middle of nowhere. I broke my leg and instead of riding 1000 miles to St. John’s Newfoundland as I had planned, was flown there for surgery. Riders from all over Labrador and Newfoundland offered to help me with recovering and repairing my bike, providing me housing while I recovered, and so much more. The incredible generosity and kindness shown to me by these strangers was life-changing.  And I would never have experienced it if I hadn’t been out there on my motorcycle.

Do you have a biking idol?

Mary McGee is an American motorsport racing pioneer. She was the first woman in the USA to compete in motocross events. She still rides today at age 82.

Do you work on your own bikes?

I do basic maintenance for my bikes and hope to keep learning so I can do more of my own work.

What’s your dream bike?

A Scrambler, but I’m not sure what kind yet…so many to choose from!

Where would you most like to ride in the world?

Mongolia is on my list. I’m planning a ride from the UK to Mongolia in the next 3 years.

BEHIND THE VISOR:

Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Sturgis, South Dakota, home of the famous motorcycle rally.

What do you do for work?

I’m a hotel manager and just bought my own small motel in the Black Hills where I hope to have a motorcycle shop for friends and fellow riders to use when they stay.

How old are you?

48.

Do you have a family of your own?

Lots of family, but I’m single and don’t have any children.

Would you teach your kids to ride?

I definitely would if I had any…so instead I teach friends, my sister and nephews.

Were you in any groups or clubs before WRWR?

I’m a member of the Dakota Dual Sport Riders – a local off-road group of riders. I’m still a member of HOG (Harley Owners Group) because my first bike was a Harley-Davidson.

What do you enjoy doing aside from biking?

Travel, camping, hiking, dogs.

What one word best describes you?

Independent.

…Now what one word that people who know you well would describe you?

Adventurous.

Do you have a biker nick-name – if not what would it be?

Sturgis Chick. I use it on social media because I thought it would be easy to remember

What super powers do you have and what would you have if you could choose?

Oh, I have so many! (We all do but it takes each of us a while to figure ours out.) I can see silver linings when others can’t. I can find humor in almost every situation if it helps ease tension and make people feel better. I can find common ground between people who may not see it themselves. And I have tons of empathy, hope and love to carry myself and others through. If I could pick others, I’d love to fly and to be able to communicate with animals.

Who got you into riding?

My first boyfriend taught me to ride a motorcycle when I was in high school. It was a super tall dirt bike and he had to ride on the back to put his feet down when we stopped because I couldn’t reach the ground. Add to that the fact he was teaching me in the middle of a prairie dog town so I had to dodge mounds every twenty feet or so… It wasn’t much fun, so I didn’t do it again for another ten years.

Why did you join WRWR?

Hayley’s idea was just such a cool idea for connecting women riders from around the world. The idea of working together with women from around the world to accomplish a common goal and finding a way to support a charity while riding, sounded like something I wanted to be a part of.