How long have you been riding?

I started riding on a mini bike at around 10 years old – so that would be 50 years of riding!  I rode trail bikes – then on the back of a street bike for the first time when I was 16. It was love at first ride!  I stayed on the tracks, trails and ice my divorce, which prompted me to take the course and become licensed at 35 years old. I still enjoy riding on the back on occasion, but prefer riding my own.  

What do you ride?

I currently own a 1994 STC (Harley Softail Custom) and a 2009 FLHX (Harley Street Glide)

Why do you ride?

The thrill – the feel of the wind rushing past me – the freedom of the road. The smells. The sounds. I prefer long distance riding because I love to travel and there just is no better way to be “in” the scenery, or a part of the scenery as you ride through. One big trip we thought we would save a few vacation days by hauling the bikes on a trailer, but really didn’t save a lot of time, and the miles spent in the truck were miserable. I ride every chance I can now when traveling. As they say – it’s never about the destination!

What is your greatest achievement on two wheels?

So many defining moments! I’m going to say I haven’t reached my greatest yet – but to date highlights include the time I rode solo 931 miles in one 12ish hour day; Ice racing; Conquering the Tail of the Dragon several times; Million Dollar Highway in Colorado; traveling from Florida to Northern California and back through unprecedented heat one year was challenging; as was another four week trip to the four corners and back where it rained, snowed or hailed every single day; or the switchbacks of the Mokee Dugway in Utah. All challenging, exciting and empowering. 

What is the greatest impact that you feel WRWR will have on the world?

I know there are many goals that Hayley had in mind – but for me I love the connections with other female bikers.  My eyes continue to be opened by the vast community of female bikers and their stories. I think putting these women together for education, personal growth, entertainment and camaraderie is huge!

Do you have a good crash story?

I don’t think there are any GOOD crash stories. Crashing sucks! i (KNOCK ON WOOD) have never had a major motorcycle crash.  I have had many close calls, and a few “dumps”, but the worst crash I was involved in was as a passenger when a car pulled out in front of us – luckily, my driver saw it coming and was able to slow down before impact.  We both flew over the car – bike was totaled, and I landed 100 feet from impact. Standing in the road with my jeans split wide open at the crotch!  Some bumps and bruises and he dislocated his shoulder – but other than the bike we were very fortunate. Then there was the time I was nearly run over by a house – but that’s a story for another day! Feel free to ask me about that one!

Do you have a biking idol?

I’m old school – Evil Kneivel!  Other than that – I met several speakers at the MCN in London that are now my idols…Elisabeth Beard, too!

Do you work on your bikes?

Uh no.  Really have no desire to – but Hayley might “make me”.  😉  

What’s your dream bike?

Elektra Girl got me very interested in the electric models!  But right now, I feel like I own my dream bikes.  If I had the money and space, I would love to have a collection of Harleys with the succession of engines!

Where would you like to ride most in the world?

Everywhere!  I’ve always felt that the USA has enough beautiful areas to ride – and have been content traveling our country, but WRWR has inspired me to broaden my bucket list, and I’m starting to plan some rides in other countries. Perhaps starting with the next WRWR  Relay!!!

Behind the Visor:

Where are you from?

Born in Bremerhaven Germany – raised in Michigan.  Currently live in Florida.  

What do you do for work?

I followed my fathers footsteps and went into law. After decades of working in law offices and for the Attorney Generals of Michigan and Florida as a paralegal, I began recruiting in 2005. I formed my own headhunter company for law offices and in house corporate counsel in 2008 (HoodLegal Search) and sold it in December 2017 to become a full time caregiver for my terminally ill parents and in laws, so I am now retired.

How old are you?

60 years young this year.  

Do you have a family of your own?

I raised three handsome boys and a beautiful step-daughter. I am currently married to the best husband ever – a retired police sergeant who spent ten years in charge of the Tampa Police Motor Unit, as well as the Marine Unit, Dive and Rescue. The motorcycle training he received as a motor cop is unbelievably tough. He can ride circles around me in a parade, but I always tell him I’ve backed my bike up more miles than he’s driven forward!! He’s my favorite riding partner. ❤️

Would you teach your kids to ride?

I have.  All three boys raced quarter and half mile, TT, scrambles and ice racing. My daughter has her own street bike now, but doesn’t ride often. Two of my boys would like to street ride, but one is blind in one eye so I don’t encourage it, and the other is busy working on his career.  

Were you in any groups or clubs before WRWR?

From 16 years old I was introduced to the motorcycle club world – including 1% ers. I spent the next 30 years as an “ol’ lady” married to a founding patch member of a Michigan Club and dating others afterward. I rarely wore the Property of Patch (only in large meetings for protection) and did not care for the way women were treated. I despised the fact that the club always came first, and most clubs treated women as second class. I’ve experienced quite a bit of all kinds of different club life – most of it I enjoyed, but I haven’t been around it much in the last 15 years. I have never been a member – although I’ve been exploring the Motor Maids and a couple others lately. 

What do you do aside from biking?

I am an avid gardener (Master Gardener in Michigan and now Florida); enjoy boating and kayaking, too. We scuba dive, fish, free dive for scallops and lobster and snorkel. Love living on a beautiful lake. I enjoy entertaining, having houseguests and cooking. My happiest times are spent with my two granddaughters – Tessa and Laila!

What  one word describes you?

Wonderwoman!  Because people always wonder what I’ll do next! Ha!

Now one word that people who know you would use to describe you?


Do you have a biker name?

Hotline – given to me by my ex in 1981.  

What super power do you have and what super power do you wish you had?

Compassion and empathy is what I have.  I do my best to try to understand what people around me are going through.

 I wish I had the super power of a pain free body. The last few years it seems pain keeps slowing me down – and I’m not ready to slow down!

Who got you into riding?

My childhood friend got me on the mini bikes – but my passion for riding and biker lifestyle came from my ex-husband.  

Why did you join WRWR?

I have always had a hard time finding women with my same passion for riding and wanted to meet more! When I heard about the relay, it was late in the game and I just made the last minute decision to ride from Florida to New York and ride as many days as I could. Family obligations (grandchildren and a niece’s wedding) didn’t allow me to do the entire USA portion, but hopefully I will next time!  When I was asked if I wanted to be a part of the team – it was a big “hell yes!!!!” I had tons of  admiration for Hayley and everyone that worked so hard on the first relay – it is an honor to work with them and be a part of this great movement!