WRWR Position:
Committee for Tomorrow Rep


How long have you been riding?

I got my license in September 2016, so just over three and a half years.

What do you ride?

I started on my boyfriend’s project: a ‘84 Moto Guzzi Le Mans 3, which I still ride to this day. But my day-to-day ride is Stumpy, my ‘05 Yamaha XT660R.

Why do you ride?

There are no words to really describe that overwhelming feeling of freedom that riding gives you, and there isn’t a feeling in the world that even comes close to it!

What is your greatest achievement on two wheels?

Keeping it upright? Haha. I rode from my hometown, Alkmaar, to Mongolia in 2018. That was pretty cool.

What potential impact do you think WRWR would have on the world?

WRWR has already proven itself to be a phenomenon in the industry – it’s absolutely amazing how it’s sparked such a global unity among women in motorcycling in such a short space of time.

Do you have a good crash story?

I go off-roading a lot, meaning I crash a lot. My favourite crashes are the ones that are just so lame, you can’t even believe them yourself. You know the ones where you have no momentum, and just sort of slow-mo fall over? That’s me.

Do you have a biking idol?

Would have to be Lyndon Poskitt and Mirjam Pol. Rally riders are my heroes!

Do you work on your own bikes?

Yup, always! I spend most of my free time in the garage working on my bikes.

What’s your dream bike?

Right now it’s the new Yamaha T7. Seems like a good fit for my next overlanding trip!

Where would you most like to ride in the world?

ALL OF IT! But considering the Alps are pretty much on my doorstep, I should probably do those first. The plan is to take a sabbatical and do the Americas in a couple of years though.


Where are you from?

Originally from Northern Ireland, but I’ve been living in the Netherlands for the past 13 years.

What do you do for work?

I’m a technical writer for EV charging solutions software.

How old are you?

Turned dirty-thirty this year!

Do you have a family of your own?

Nope, not planning on having one either. I prefer being the cool aunt. I have a couple of plants I try to keep alive though, so there’s that.

Would you teach your kids to ride?

We take my boyfriend’s middle niece out for rides from time to time. She started saving for her license when she was 7, so we’re on the right track with her.

Were you in any groups or clubs before WRWR?

Nope! I’m very much a lone rider. I was in a few mechanics groups for my bike models, but other than that, no communities or clubs.

What do you enjoy doing aside from biking?

Anything that gets my creative juices flowing. That could be working on my bike, playing one of my instruments, cooking, or drawing. Also, beers and hanging out with friends.

What one word best describes you?


…Now what one word that people who know you well would describe you?

Haha, probably pushover or overthinker.

Do you have a biker name – if not what would it be?

Don’t have one, don’t need one.

What superpowers do you have and what would you have if you could choose?

I’m an excellent multitasker. Is having common sense considered a superpower these days? Seems so at times. What I’d absolutely love is that I’m instantly good at everything I try, but on the other hand, that takes away the challenge of learning it all…

Who got you into riding?

I always wanted to ride. Then I met my current boyfriend and he took me for a ride. I was instantly hooked, even as a pillion. But I wanted nothing more than to have full control of a bike, so got my license and the rest is history.

Why did you join WRWR?

I was on our trip to Mongolia and had just got WiFi again in Osh, Kyrgyzstan when I got an invite to join this group called Women Riders World Relay. For some reason it spoke to me, then I accidentally ended up becoming the Dutch Ambassador – what a wild ride that was. And now I’m here, and I can’t wait to help continue this amazing journey for women’s motorcycling!